Grape varieties

Braucol:
Braucol is an ancient an classical type of grape in Gaillac. It’s also known with the name of Fer Servadou, Fer (iron) reminds the hard wood of the vines and Servadou is a hind for the long shelf life of it’s grapes and wine. The Braucol grape is a close relative to Cabernet-Sauvignon and nearly resistant against fungal diseases. The small grapes, with their thick grape skin, deliver a superb basis for a colourfull and spicy red wine with deep aromes of black currant and solid tannins, which make Braucol an ideal wine for the maturation in oak casks and long storage.

Cabernet-Sauvignon:

Cabernet-Sauvignon is one of the most grown variety in the world. It has it’s origins probably in the Bordeaux area, latest genetical analyses suggest a spontaneous cross-breeding of Cabernet-Franc and Sauvignon blanc. The variety produces powerful red-wines, including fruity aromas of blackcurrant and notes of Liquorice, cedar wood and tar. Matured in small oak casks, it’s an ideal partner for cuvees.  Like in Bordeaux, Cabernet-Sauvignon is combined with Braucol, Merlot and Syrah, to create Bosc Long’s  “Cuvee du Dome”. At Bosc Long, Cabernet-Sauvignon is also used for a fresh pressed fruity rose wine, with young, juicy aromas of cherries and raspberry.

Chardonnay:
Chardonnay is one of the classical French grape varieties, with it’s origins in Burgundy, it takes place in most of the wine-growing areas in the world. At Bosc Long, the wines grow ideally on soils with a high propotion of lime. The Chardonnay wine is fullbodied, with a nourishing structure. The aromas reflect the soil and terroir, showing note of lime tree blossom, pears and fresh cut gras. Matured wines are also plenished with nutty-smoky nuances. Chardonnay is also well suited for oak cask maturation.

Duras:

Duras is a very old variety, only common in the southwest of France and especially in Gaillac. The small grapes with their solid skin elaborate powerfull, spicy redwines with a touch of pepper aromas. Because of  it’s early ripening, Duras staggers the harvesting time. It is a classical blending partner for the typical cuvees of the region and has the share of the characteristics of Gaillac redwines.

Merlot:

Merlot is also one of the classical sorts of the famous Bordeaux wines, known since the 14th century as a singular grape variety. The name Merlot is a derivation of the french ”merle”(blackbird), a bird who likes the fruity, full-bodied, early ripening black-coloured grapes. Merlot generates smooth, full-bodied redwines with fruity plum-aromas and soft tannins, which make the Merlot wines so popular. Of cause the storage stability is terminated, even with oak-cask elaboration. But it’s well distinguished as a part in cuvees and makes them earlier enjoyable, without limiting the stability graviously.

Muscadelle:
Muscadelle is the typical type of grapes for the production of sweet white wines. The tiny gold-shimmering grapes are early ripening and reach a high level of sweetness at low harvest-quantities. The wine has a light note of honey and nutmeg. As a sweet-wine, Muscadelle is inspiring with aroma-notes of dried apricots and blossom honey, after maturation in oak casks notes of butter-caramel and walnuts appear.

Sauvignon blanc:
The Sauvignon blanc grape is a popular variety with unknown provenance, but widely planted all over the world. The ancestry isn’t known, but it is popular in France for centuries, Sauvignon is deduced by the French “sauvage” (savage). Genetic analyses hind to Cabernet-Sauvignon as one of the two parents. The wine has a unique, spicy aromas of green peppers and gooseberries, often combined with mineraly notes, depending on the soil on which it is grown.

Syrah:

Syrah, or it’s similar name Shiraz is an old variety with it’s origins in the Rhone-valley. The sort demands a high level of intensive sunshine to reach ripenes. Then it becomes a fruity, dark red-wine wit a massive body and solid smooth tannins. Syrah-wines mature slowly and are storable for a long time. In the Gaillac area , Syrah supports Braucol, Cabernet-Sauvignon, Merlot and Duras in the classical blends.

 

Empfehlen Sie uns weiter:
  • Print
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • RSS

Comments are closed.

Rebsorten

Braucol:
Braucol ist eine alte, klassische Rebsorte in Gaillac. Sie ist auch unter dem Namen Fer Servadou bekannt, Fer (Eisen) erinnert an das harte Rebholz und Servadou ist ein Hinweis auf die lange Haltbarkeit von Trauben und Wein. Die Braucoltraube ist ein naher Verwandter des Cabernet-Sauvignon und nahezu resistent gegen Pilzkrankheiten. Die kleinen Beeren, mit ihren dicken Beerenhäuten ergeben eine hervorragende Basis für einen farbintensiven und würzigen Rotwein mit tiefen Aromen von schwarzen Johannisbeeren und kraftvollen Tanninen, was Braucol zu einem idealen Wein für den Barriqueausbau und lange Lagerung macht.

Cabernet-Sauvignon:
Der Cabernet-Sauvignon ist eine der meistangebauten Rebsorten der Welt. Der Ursprung liegt wahrscheinlich im Bordeauxgebiet, neuere Genanalysen weisen auf eine Spontankreuzung von Cabernet-Franc und Sauvignon blanc hin.
Die Sorte bringt kräftige Rotweine mit fruchtigen Cassisnoten sowie Nuancen von Lakritz, Zedernholz und Teer hervor. Der Wein eignet sich hervorragend für die Lagerung in kleinen Barriques und ist lange haltbar.  Er ist ein idealer Verschnittpartner für Rotwein – Cuvees, wie im Bordeaux und spielt auch im “Cuvee du Dome“ neben Braucol, Merlot und Syrah eine tragende Rolle. Auf der Domaine de Bosc long wird er auch frisch gepresst zu einem fruchtigen Rosé verarbeitet, der saftige Aromen von Kirsche und Himbeeren zeigt.

Chardonnay:
Der Chardonnay ist eine der klassischen französischen Rebsorten mit Ursprung in Burgund und hat sich auf der ganzen Welt ausgebreitet. Die Reben wachsen idealerweise auf kalkhaltigen Böden (so auch auf der Domaine de Bosc Long).  Die Weine sind körperreich und gehaltvoll, das Aroma  spiegelt den Boden, das Terroir wieder und hat Anklänge von Lindenblüten, Birne und frisch gemähtem Gras. Bei reiferen Weinen kommen nussige und rauchige Nuancen hinzu. Der Chardonnay eignet sich auch hervorragend zum Barriqueausbau.

Duras:
Der Duras ist eine sehr alte, im Gebiet des Tarn verbreitete Rebsorte. Die kleinen, dickschaligen Beeren erzeugen kraftvolle, würzige Rotweine mit leicht pfeffrigen Aromen. Durch seine frühe Reife entzerrt er die Weinlese, er dient als Verschnittpartner in den klassischen Cuvees der Region und prägt auch die Charakteristik der Weine Gaillacs.

Merlot:
Der Merlot ist eine klassische Rebsorte des Bordeaux und dort schon seit  dem 14ten Jahrhundert als eigenständige Rebsorte bekannt. Der Name soll eine Anspielung auf die Amseln  (frz. merle) sein, welche die frühreifen, schwarzblauen Beeren  mit Vorliebe verspeisen. Der Merlot bringt fruchtige, vollmundige und weiche Rotweine mit sanftem Tannin und früher Trinkreife hervor. Die Aromen von Backpflaumen und dunkler Schokolade machen Merlotweine charmant und beliebt. Die Lagerfähigkeit ist auch mit Barriqueausbau begrenzt. Er eignet sich aber hervorragend als Verschnittpartner in Cuvees und macht diese früher genussreif, ohne die Lagerfähigkeit gravierend zu beeinflussen.

Muscadelle:
Der Muscadelle ist eine klassische Sorte zur Süßweinerzeugung. Die kleinen, goldgelben Beeren sind frühreifend und können bei verminderten Erträgen hohe Mostgewichte erzielen. Die Weine haben eine leichte Muskatnote, obwohl die Rebsorte nicht mit den Muskatellertrauben verwandt ist.  Als Süßwein zeigt der Muscadelle Aromen von getrockneten Aprikosen und Blütenhonig. Bei längerer Reifung im Holzfass kommen buttrige Noten von Karamel und Walnüssen zum Vorschein.

Sauvignon blanc:
Der Sauvignon blanc  ist eine bekannte Weißweinsorte mit ungewisser Herkunft, aber weiter Verbreitung. Ihre Abstammung ist unbekannt, aber sie ist in Frankreich altbekannt, Sauvignon ist abgeleitet von “sauvage-wild“.
Interessanterweise  zeigen Genanalysen, dass sie eine der beiden Elternsorten des Cabernet-Sauvignon ist.  Der Wein zeigt eigenwillige, grüne, rassig-pikante  Aromen von Stachelbeeren und Grüner Paprika, oft gepaart mit mineralischen Noten , je nach der Gesteinsart des Standortes der Reben.

Syrah:
Der Syrah oder Shiraz, ist eine alte Rebsorte mit Ursprung im Rhonetal. Sie benötigt intensiven Sonnengenuß um zur Reife zu gelangen. Dann erzeugt sie tieffruchtige, farbintensive Rotweine mit massivem Tanningerüst. Die Syrahweine reifen langsam und sind lange lagerfähig. Im Gebiet von Gaillac ergänzen sie sich im klassischen Cuvee mit Braucol, Cabernet-Sauvignon, Merlot und Duras.

 

Empfehlen Sie uns weiter:
  • Print
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • RSS

Die Kommentarfunktion ist geschlossen.